How can I make photos show full screen?

Post Reply
Klausi69
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:48 pm

How can I make photos show full screen?

Post by Klausi69 »

Hello,

can you please tell me how to make photos show full screen on my 16:9 Philips TV (1920/1080)? Otherwise there are too many black fields on my screen. ;)
I think it should be available to choose the best possible dimension of 1920x1080, although the photo's dimensions are - for example - 960x540. The test transcoding's results are:

Input #0, image2, from 'D:\Pictures\testbild_960_540.jpg':
Duration: 00:00:00.04, start: 0.000000, bitrate: N/A
Stream #0.0: Video: mjpeg, yuvj420p, 960x540 [PAR 72:72 DAR 16:9], 25 tbr, 2
5 tbn, 25 tbc
Output #0, image2, to 'C:\Users\Elmar\AppData\Local\Wild Media Server\WMS\Temp\T
est_570676f691b6d04c42edc66b057eeb74.jpg':
Metadata:
encoder : Lavf52.57.1
Stream #0.0: Video: mjpeg, yuvj420p, 960x540 [PAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], q=2-31, 200
kb/s, 90k tbn, 25 tbc
Stream mapping:
Stream #0.0 -> #0.0
Press [q] to stop encoding
frame= 1 fps= 0 q=8.2 Lsize= -0kB time=0.04 bitrate= -4.4kbits/s
video:48kB audio:0kB global headers:0kB muxing overhead -100.044759%


My transcoding profile is "Photo (primary)". I can't even see any effects by limiting "List frame sizes for mode..." to 1920x1080. Are there any settings I've ignored?
Thanks for your help and your impressive software.

Klausi
Eugene
Posts: 2940
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 8:05 pm

Re: How can I make photos show full screen?

Post by Eugene »

Hello,
Klausi69 wrote: can you please tell me how to make photos show full screen on my 16:9 Philips TV (1920/1080)? Otherwise there are too many black fields on my screen. ;)
I think it should be available to choose the best possible dimension of 1920x1080, although the photo's dimensions are - for example - 960x540. The test transcoding's results are:

Input #0, image2, from 'D:\Pictures\testbild_960_540.jpg':
Duration: 00:00:00.04, start: 0.000000, bitrate: N/A
Stream #0.0: Video: mjpeg, yuvj420p, 960x540 [PAR 72:72 DAR 16:9], 25 tbr, 2
5 tbn, 25 tbc
Output #0, image2, to 'C:\Users\Elmar\AppData\Local\Wild Media Server\WMS\Temp\T
est_570676f691b6d04c42edc66b057eeb74.jpg':
Metadata:
encoder : Lavf52.57.1
Stream #0.0: Video: mjpeg, yuvj420p, 960x540 [PAR 1:1 DAR 16:9], q=2-31, 200
kb/s, 90k tbn, 25 tbc
Stream mapping:
Stream #0.0 -> #0.0
Press [q] to stop encoding
frame= 1 fps= 0 q=8.2 Lsize= -0kB time=0.04 bitrate= -4.4kbits/s
video:48kB audio:0kB global headers:0kB muxing overhead -100.044759%


My transcoding profile is "Photo (primary)". I can't even see any effects by limiting "List frame sizes for mode..." to 1920x1080. Are there any settings I've ignored?
Settings - Transcoder - Profiles - Photo(primary) - Edit

Code: Select all

-i "<INPUT FILE>" -f image2 -vcodec mjpeg -s 1920x1080 "<OUTPUT FILE>"
Settings - Device - "Embedded file support" - clear field "Photo"
Settings - Transcoder - "Transcoding file params" - Photo - "Transcoding profile" - Photo (primary)
Klausi69
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:48 pm

Re: How can I make photos show full screen?

Post by Klausi69 »

Thanks for your quick response. The result is perfect unless I select photos with other aspect ratio. Extreme effects happen with portrait format. ;)
My intention is to see as few black areas on my screen as possible, but the aspect ratio is still the same as the original. In my opionion the height should be limited to 1080, whereas the width is variable.

Now I installed ImageMagick which seems to be a powerful tool. The only disadvantage is that this is absolutely new for me. :o
Klausi69
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 6:48 pm

Re: How can I make photos show full screen?

Post by Klausi69 »

Now I installed ImageMagick and discovered quickly the needed option. This is my suggestion, which fulfilled my wish. Perhaps interesting for some other users. Some changes are necessary in the transcoding parameters:

const
csTranscodingParams = '"%s" -profile "%s" -auto-orient -filter Kaiser -resize "1920x1080" -format jpeg "<OUTPUT FILE>"';
begin
TranscodingParams := Format(csTranscodingParams, [ExtractShortPathName(InputFileName),
ExtractFilePath(WmsTranscoderPath('IMAGEMAGICK')) + 'config\sRGB.icm',
cfgTranscodingScreenWidth, cfgTranscodingScreenHeight]);
end.
Eugene
Posts: 2940
Joined: Tue Nov 17, 2009 8:05 pm

Re: How can I make photos show full screen?

Post by Eugene »

dan.crouthamel wrote:
Eugene wrote:Hello,
Settings - Device - "Embedded file support" - clear field "Photo"
Settings - Transcoder - "Transcoding file params" - Photo - "Transcoding profile" - Photo (primary)
I'm curious to know why I had to do the step in bold? I wouldn't have thought to go there, but after doing so I see the photos getting resized and appear in the cache directory. Using ImageMagik.
Files in "Embedded file support" are transferred to the device without transcoding.
Post Reply