new Sony HD TV and DVB subtitles

jolson

new Sony HD TV and DVB subtitles

Post by jolson »

Hi

I’m new to WMS, but having just sampled most of the media servers on the Internet, this is by far the best one I’ve seen
That said, I’m having some difficulties understanding what I’m doing, and finding the right settings has been more a matter of luck than knowledge.

I could use some help with the few problems I haven’t been able to solve.
I’m running WMS version 0.73 on Windows 7 Professional. The reason for having the media server is to stream to my new Sony KDL-32EX403. This has only been out a few weeks and has an DVB-T2 tuner as well as DVB-T. They are connected using DLNA on 100Mb wired Ethernet. The video file types I’m testing (photos and music can come later) are: .ts, .avi, .mov, .wmv, .mpg, .flv, .mkv, and HD .mp4

1) If I go to Settings > Device > and set the TYPE to “Sony TV (DLNA, 16:9 , 1920X1080)”, then only the mpg files will play. If I set the TYPE to “Sony TV (DLNA, 16:9 , 1280X720)” then most files play but the video is stretched slightly horizontally. The TV resolution is 1920x1080; should I be able to set the TYPE to this resolution? Can I adjust the aspect ratio to correct the picture?

2) If I set the Device TYPE to 1280x720 then most videos play. The exception is the .ts file and the mp4 file. The .ts file is a transport stream created by DVBViewer and it consists of MPEG2VIDEO, MP2 audio, and embedded DVBSUB subtitles. Changing the transcoding settings from the TV, I managed to get it to display properly using the DVPiper transcoding profile, but there are no subtitles. Is DVPiper the correct transcoder? What do I have to do to get the DVB subtitles to work? I have 2 Deaf people in the house and it is important for them.

3) The .mp4’s don’t play consistently, but they aren’t so important so I’ve mostly ignored them. Once I get the .ts running properly, I'll dig into it a little deeper.