Page 1 of 1
Transcode to AVCHD to KDL-32EX308
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 2:26 pm
by ShapeGSX
I just bought a Bravia KDL-32EX308. I have Wild Media Server up and running and transcoding into MPEG2. However, the results look a bit blocky. After upping the bit rate to 6Mbit, it looks quite a bit better.
However, the TV also supports streaming in AVCHD. Is there a way to transcode to AVCHD using Wild?
I have a quad core 3.0GHz processor in my PC, so it has some muscle for transcoding. MPEG2 barely even moves the CPU meter.
Re: Transcode to AVCHD to KDL-32EX308
Posted: Fri Apr 09, 2010 9:29 pm
by Andrey
I have the same TV. I do not think it has enough power to decode high bitrate AVCHD video. MPEG2 at 8mbps works great for me. Before I installed the WMS (and after terrible results with WMP12), I tried to use Cyberlink encoded AVCHD via USB, and the video playback was jerky.
Re: Transcode to AVCHD to KDL-32EX308
Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 12:41 am
by ShapeGSX
Even lower bitrate AVCHD would be better than MPEG2 in a lot of circumstances.
I played back a relatively low bitrate H264 mp4 last night via USB and it looked fantastic. Much less noise than the MPEG2 transcodes I've seen. No macroblocking, either.
AVCHD also uses H264.
What a deal for this TV, eh?
Re: Transcode to AVCHD to KDL-32EX308
Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 5:50 am
by Andrey
Yes, a lot of bang for the buck.
It would be even better if Sony was not so picky about format of the files it can play.
Re: Transcode to AVCHD to KDL-32EX308
Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 6:51 am
by Eugene
You can change the profile for transcoding H264-coding, but the rate of transcoding is greatly reduced.
Settings-Transcoder-Codecs-Frame - choose file format MPEGTS
Settings-Transcoder-Profiles - Movies (additional) - Copy - Movies (additional)_1 - Edit
Code: Select all
function GetVideoCodec(const aVideoCodec: string): string;
begin
if (aVideoCodec = '') or SameText(aVideoCodec, 'MPEG2') then
Result := 'libx264'
else if SameText(aVideoCodec, 'WMV') then
Result := 'wmv2'
else
Result := aVideoCodec
end;
OK-OK-OK
On the right mouse button you can select the new transcoding profile, and perform a test transcoding, pay attention to the speed transcoding (fps), it should be more framerate.
For HD-movies with a standard size frame you can use a transcoding profile Movies - TsMuxer, it does not change the video stream.
Re: Transcode to AVCHD to KDL-32EX308
Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 3:40 pm
by ShapeGSX
Hmm, tried that, but got a blank screen when I tried to stream.
Is MPEGTS equivalent to the AVCHD container?
Encoding for a 25fps 720p video was around 27fps for a 720x406 output, which seems marginal to me. All 4 cores were screaming, too. Is there a way to adjust whether the encode is optimized for speed or quality?
Re: Transcode to AVCHD to KDL-32EX308
Posted: Sat Apr 10, 2010 8:19 pm
by Eugene
ShapeGSX wrote:Hmm, tried that, but got a blank screen when I tried to stream.
Is MPEGTS equivalent to the AVCHD container?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AVCHD