Page 1 of 1

CoreAVC (using ATI card --> DXVA)

Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 1:23 pm
by ma.balieiro
Hi,

how can I enable hardware decoding acceleration (DXVA) on CoreAVC transcoding profile (on My machine, I need only a few FPS to transcoding and may be this is the way). I only archived software decoding (CoreAVC blue icon on tray) but I do hardware decoding on WMP or MPC (I have CCCP + CoreAVC + Haali Splitter).

On some tests here, using GraphStudio, when I load my 1080p .mkv file, it connect the CoreAVC decoder on Video Renderer and the CoreAVC icon remains blue (no hardware accel), but when I delete the Video Renderer and insert the Enhenced Video Renderer conected to CoreAVC Decoder, the icon became red (indicating hardware accel).

The question is why the hardware accel only enable on Enhanced Video Decoder and how to enable it on CoreAVC transcoding profile?

thx for any help

Re: CoreAVC (using ATI card --> DXVA)

Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 5:23 pm
by Eugene
Hi,

I think DXVA only works with the output on screen (DXVA restrictions)

Re: CoreAVC (using ATI card --> DXVA)

Posted: Thu Jun 02, 2011 6:50 pm
by ma.balieiro
Hi Eugene,

thx for the quick answer. Sorry to hear that, I was very excited with the idea to decode using DXVA in CoreAVC profile and now: no hope! :(

But what about nVidia cards? Can I give some fps in decoding stage via hardware (using CUDA)?

And what about Elemental Badaboom GPU H.264 transcoder? There are plans to support it?

thx,

Re: CoreAVC (using ATI card --> DXVA)

Posted: Fri Jun 03, 2011 8:19 am
by Eugene
Hi,
ma.balieiro wrote: thx for the quick answer. Sorry to hear that, I was very excited with the idea to decode using DXVA in CoreAVC profile and now: no hope! :(
On Windows Vista, Windows 7, 2008, 2011 you can try to disable the use of CoreCodec and use "Microsoft DTV-DVD Video Decoder", maybe it will be faster. Settings - Transcoder - Profiles - "Movies - CoreAVC" - Edit -

find

Code: Select all

if not CheckResult(WmsDirectShowAddFilter('CoreAVC Video Decoder', 'Video Decoder'), False) and
replace on

Code: Select all

if // not CheckResult(WmsDirectShowAddFilter('CoreAVC Video Decoder', 'Video Decoder'), False) and
ma.balieiro wrote: But what about nVidia cards? Can I give some fps in decoding stage via hardware (using CUDA)?
I think this will not solve the problem with VC1, it is better to buy a network media player.
ma.balieiro wrote: And what about Elemental Badaboom GPU H.264 transcoder? There are plans to support it?
If Elemental Badaboom GPU H.264 transcoder supports command line, no problem